hole in my tights

there’s a hole in my tights
and I must have noticed it before
becuase i can see the clear nail polish that has dried
up all over the little woven black strands

i pull them up so the hole doesn’t show
my skirt swings, barely just below
is anyone looking at it?

can they see my bare skin flashing as I stand up
or am i the only one cares?

my tights are full of holes, if you stretched them far enough you could see all of them, but for now there is only this rip

as the day goes on, the hole widens ripping up farther and farther
i try to stop it

i hear about the ban in the news
the aclu is there too

the hole runs up my thigh
in choir, my friend isn’t there
she is muslim

the hole has gone down to my knee
i don’t know what to do
i can’t stop it’s growth without going home and sewing it
i don’t even know how to sew on a machine
just with a needle and thread

just with a needle and thread
when he has executive orders

there’s the 1965 law
but there are national security exceptions

except how could a how country be an exception
as if all persons from
syria, iraq, iran, sudan, libya, somalia, and yemen
are jihadi terrorists

there is a hole in my tights
there is a hole in our country
i must have seen it before
or did i really?

Leave a Reply

