books

i spent too much time in books most of my life
and now i don’t spend enough time inside their pages

i remember my grandparents took my sisters and i to the zoo in chicago and there was a polar bear there
i had never seen a polar bear
and i left still not having seen one
because i had my nose buried deep in harry potter
i was reading the story for the first time
to me spells and creatures and intrigue were more important
to me real life was never as excting as what i was reading
no matter fiction, nonfiction, poetry
those words were always better

now i’m lucky to get a book in every couple weeks
i have school, friends, music,
things that take up my time and
and
and

i miss those pages
their feeling

i miss being a reader

inspired by a dear friend of mine

Leave a Reply

