sweet wine

I took some of my rambles from my recent travels and some old song ideas and combined them into this little song nugget.

all my lovers wear cast off crowns and jewels
and drank all of my sweet wine
but I have run my lovers at the race track
and beaten them at their own lines

all my sweethearts have left me long ago
and loved others fairer than i
so I do laugh bitterly at the cold winds
and am cross as the storm clouds pass by

you say you’re sorry for the way you treated me
and how can i not forgive
your eyes
and how can i not forgive
your arms holding me tight
holding me through the night

we talk for hours on end
but it’s cold comfort
cause i know that when we’re home again
you’ll have her
and i’ll be deserted in the sands
of good intent

all my failures sneak up on me in dreams
and call out old misgivings
but I have hope in the smallest idea
of bright luck and rearrangings

you say you’re sorry for the way you treated me
and how can i not forgive
your words
and how can i not forgive
your hands tangled up in mine
tangled through the times

Leave a Reply

